Peregrine Award

Peregrine-Award-patchThe Peregrine Award is presented to hikers who complete all 77 miles of The Foothills Trail—from Oconee State Park to Table Rock State Park. The award was started in 2011 in honor of longtime FTC member Heyward Douglass. The word “peregrine” comes from the Spanish word “peregrino,” which means pilgrim. It is also the name of one of Heyward’s favorite birds; he was instrumental in the re-introduction of the Peregrine Falcon to the mountains of Upstate South Carolina. To receive the award, hikers must meet the following requirements:

  • Hike all 77 miles of the Foothills Trail. This may be in a single through-hike or multiple section hikes over a period of time.
  • Be a member of the Foothills Trail Conservancy at the time of award application. Join on-line here. (link to “Join Us” page)
  • Apply for the award, which includes submitting a report of your hike(s) and describing your experience, best moments, etc.

There are two ways to apply for the Peregrine Award:

Applications will be reviewed by the Foothills Trail Conservancy and, upon acceptance, applicants will receive a completion certificate and Peregrine Award patch.


2016 Recipients

David Fisher -SC
Nancy Buchman -OH
Kim Jauch -OH
Karen Power -OH
Carl E. Miller -NC
Judi Melanson- SC
Christina Bunch- NC
Troy Bunch -NC
Grayson Bunch -NC
Carter Bunch- NC
Eric Martin-SC
Ann Houghton-NC
Reuben Diachenko- SC
Karl Glang -SC
Steve Kelley -SC
Jeremy McWatty -SC
David Sons -SC
Robert Bausmith- SC
Michael Warren -NC
Tabitha Warren- NC
Susan Lech -SC
Patsy Winkel- SC
Susan Kropp- VA

Elizabeth Dunn -VA
Kelly Dunn -VA
Adam Kemnitz -NC
William Knight -NC
John Hudson -SC
Ralph May -PA
Debra May -PA
Ellie Elzerman -SC
Jean Arden -SC
Matthew Potter -SC
Kent Dykes -SC
Sean Emery -MN
Jordan Sherbet -FL
Bruce Johnston -GA
Jim Fodrie -MD
Greg Ballard -SC
Rebecca Robinson -MI
Johnathan Johnston -SC
Stephanie Hall- SC
Theresa Legg- MI
Robert Gill- MD
Nancy East- NC
Aidan East- NC
Paige East- NC
Wogene East- NC

Karen Peter- SC
Daniel Owens- NC
Corena Owens- NC
Tony Galluscio- FL
Benjamin DeLozier- FL
Alexander Comte- SC
Michael Sullivan- SC
Troy Mayes- SC
Mark Rozear- NC
Bill Barron- SC
Sammy Otwell- SC
Jeremiah Johnson- SC
Amanda Johnson- SC
Ronald Blake- SC
Sharon Blake- SC
Elizabeth Brown- SC
Lars Holmquist- GA
Andrew Gleason- SC
Mike Summers- SC
Mikey Summers- SC
Wallace Leflore- SC
Leslie McDonald- SC